Aboriginal Communities
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

All council websites and online services will be unavailable from 5:30pm today for essential maintenance

Quick Launch

Aboriginal Communities

Print this Page

The Dharawal people (also spelt Tarawal or Thuruwal) lived on the coastal areas of Sydney between Broken Bay / Pittwater, west to Berowra Waters, south to Parramatta and Liverpool and extending into the Illawarra and Shoalhaven districts. The traditional language of this tribe was also known as Dharawal.

The Wodi Wodi are a sub-group of the Dharawal nation who occupied areas around Lake Illawarra, including Berkeley and Hooka Creek.

The Illawarra region has many different nation groups / traditional owners:

  • Korewal Elouera Jerrungarugh Tribal Elders (KEJ)
  • Wadi Wadi Coomaditchie Aboriginal Corporation
  • Wodi Wodi Elders Corporation
  • Wodi Wodi Traditional Owner Corporation

Other nation groups residing within the Illawarra region include, but are not limited to the Yuin, Wiradjuri, Kamilaroi, Bundjalung, Dunghutti and Gumbayggir nations. Cultural identities are extremely important for the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. They represent different heritages, languages, cultural practices, spiritual beliefs and geographic areas.

Current projects:

We also provide the community with:

  • heritage and cultural information 
  • advice, support, and information on protocols for liaising with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.

Related Documents

Aboriginal Reference Group Charter  2017-2020.pdfAboriginal Reference Group Charter 2017-2020175 KB
Illawarra Aboriginal Groups.pdfIllawarra Aboriginal Groups5 KB
Welcome to and Acknowledgement of Country Protocol 2018-2021.pdfWelcome to and Acknowledgement of Country Protocol 2018-202157 KB
(More Documents...)
Page last updated: