Floodplain Management
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

All council websites and online services will be unavailable from 5:30pm today for essential maintenance

Floodplain Management

Print this Page

Flooding in Wollongong

Flooding is when the water level in a creek, river, lake or the sea rises and covers land. Whilst some floods occur without problem, others are devastating, causing large-scale destruction and significant loss of life. The rise in water level can be due to numerous causes, although the most common in Australia is heavy rainfall.
Flooding that is sudden and unexpected is referred to as flash flooding. It is usually caused by slow-moving thunderstorms that deposit an extraordinary amount of water in a relatively short period of time.

Due to our location at the foot of the Illawarra Escarpment, Wollongong is particularly prone to flash flooding. As heavy rainfall occurs along the escarpment, runoff reaches the creeks very quickly, giving local residents little time to prepare.


To find out more about flood-related issues in Wollongong, visit one of these pages:

Looking for information about dealing with flood emergencies? Try our Flood Preparations page.

Page last updated: