Use space to open navigation items
Wollongong City Council

Awards and Recognition

Nominations are now open for the 2024 City of Wollongong Awards!


We acknowledge people, community groups and organisations that make Wollongong a better place.

Nominations are now open for the 2024 City of Wollongong Awards!

See our City of Wollongong Awards page for more information and make a nomination by Friday 1 December 2023.

The Local Government Regional NAIDOC Awards celebrate the contribution and achievements of Aboriginal* communities in Wollongong, Shellharbour, Kiama and Shoalhaven local government areas.

The 2023 awards were hosted by Kiama Municipal Council on Saturday 29 July. Visit Kiama Municipal Council's website to learn more or and see details or award recipients.

*Note: 'Aboriginal' includes Torres Strait Islander people.

Our Recognition Receptions are held twice a year to acknowledge the outstanding achievements of individuals and organisations in our city. This can include national Roll of Honour recipients, volunteers, academics, sportspeople and others who contribute to our community.

If you’d like to suggest someone to be included in a future recognition reception, email or call us on (02) 4227 7111.

Recipients of Keys to the City of Wollongong

2022Professor Justin Yerbury AM
2020Richard Tognetti
2016Emma McKeon
2016Emma Tonegato
2016Nicole Beck
2016Cyrus Villanueva
2012 Mat Campbell
2009St George Illawarra Dragons
2006Kerryn McCann
200526 Army Cadet Unit
2001Wollongong Hawks
2000Wollongong Wolves
1997Anthony Warlow
1997TS Albatross Cadets
1995Steve Elkington
1987Wayne Gardner