Notice: See our latest COVID-19 updates and support information Read more.
Alert: Possible delays contacting Council Read more.
Use space to open navigation items
Wollongong City Council

Awards and Recognition

We acknowledge people, community groups and organisations that make Wollongong a better place.

Nominations have now closed for the 2022 Wollongong Australia Day Awards.

Winners will be announced shortly before Australia Day.

2021 Australia Day Award Winners

  • Citizen of the Year: Chaplain John Kewa
  • Senior Citizen of the Year: Laurence Jennett OAM
  • Young Citizen of the Year: Thura Sabbar
  • Arts and Cultural Achievement Award: Sharon Buikstra
  • Sports Achievement Award: Open Men's Boat Crew, Bulli Surf Life Saving Club
  • Innovation Achievement Award: Professor Sharon Robinson
  • Community Group Award: One Door Mental Health Committee
  • Diversity and Inclusion Award: Lisa Cuda
  • Wollongong to the World Award: Corey Tutt
  • Wollongong to the World Award: Carol Kiernan
  • Lord Mayor's Award: Hasan Al Taleb
  • Lord Mayor’s Award: Dapto High School.

You can read about each of our 2021 award recipients in our Australia Day Awards media release.

Our Recognition Receptions are held twice a year to acknowledge the outstanding achievements of individuals and organisations in our city. This can include national Roll of Honour recipients, volunteers, academics, sportspeople and others who contribute to our community.

If you’d like to suggest someone to be included in a future recognition reception, email or call us on (02) 4227 7111.

Recipients of Keys to the City of Wollongong

2020Richard Tognetti
2016Emma McKeon
2016Emma Tonegato
2016Nicole Beck
2016Cyrus Villanueva
2012 Mat Campbell
2009St George Illawarra Dragons
2006Kerryn McCann
200526 Army Cadet Unit
2001Wollongong Hawks
2000Wollongong Wolves
1997Anthony Warlow
1997TS Albatross Cadets
1995Steve Elkington
1987Wayne Gardner

Recent awards and recognition